Author Topic: Summer RV travel  (Read 4179 times)

Summer RV travel
« on: April 09, 2015, 12:00:58 PM »
This summer we will be traveling in our RV (truck and trailer) thru the following states, NM, CO, Utah, Idaho and Oregon.  Also possibly into Washington state, CA and NV.  Normally I carry my loaded hand gun in the truck, then move it into the trailer at night.  Will my TX CHL be valid in the listed states?  Is there anything I should do differently while traveling?  What about concealed carry in public?

Thanks,
Larry
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Guest »

ceejmo

• View Profile
Re: Summer RV travel
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2015, 09:32:44 PM »
I'm not a lawyer but,
Oregon, Washington, California and Nevada do not reciprocate Texas CHL. Colorado only reciprocates Texas CHL if you are a Texas resident with a Texas CHL.

http://http://www.usacarry.com/concealed_carry_permit_reciprocity_maps.html

TexasLawShield

• Administrator
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2015, 03:57:18 PM »

Your CHL is not recognized in Oregon, California, Washington State or Nevada. Here is a breakdown of how you may carry in your vehicle in those states.
Oregon- May carry a loaded firearm in your vehicle only if it is visible in a belt holster.
Washington state- Loaded handguns may not be carried anywhere in the vehicle. Must be unloaded and locked in a commercial gun case
Nevada- You may have a loaded handgun in plain view, or secured in the glove box or center console. You may not conceal the handgun on your person while in the vehicle.
California- Handguns must be unloaded and locked in a commercial gun gas in your trunk or other “secured storage compartment” of your vehicle. You may not have any firearm there with over a 10 round magazine.