Author Topic: 30.06/7 signage posted at entrance to parking lot.  (Read 3719 times)

charlesjohnsoncsp

30.06/7 signage posted at entrance to parking lot.
« on: October 07, 2015, 03:02:04 PM »
In the anticipation of Jan1 open carry, I have been tasked with researching the following topic.  
We are a church in TX.  We are debating and considering the potential impact of open carry during worship and other services beginning Jan1.    This is not about should we or should we not post, rather, if we decide to properly post,  Would it be considered " effective notice " to post signage at the entrance of our parking lot rather than on the building entryway?  Additional factors:  There are two primary entrances to the building, 1- from the parking lot and 2- from the street (without using or driving by the parking lot)
thanks
cj
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Guest »

LucasMcCain

• I am not a lawyer.
    • View Profile
Re: 30.06/7 signage posted at entrance to parking lot.
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2015, 03:32:47 PM »
Not a lawyer.

Were I to be in charge of this task at my church, I would post notices at all entrances. Even if you prohibit carrying in the church, doing so in the parking lot might be a bit of a legal gray area. It also might lead to some confusion. Better to be safe and actually post on or near the doors.