Author Topic: New Open Carry  (Read 18973 times)

LucasMcCain

• I am not a lawyer.
    • View Profile
Re: New Open Carry
« Reply #15 on: January 06, 2016, 04:07:38 PM »
LucasMcCain, just speculation on my part, but five will get you ten that the responsible party at Texas Trust Credit Union mistakenly thinks that the new 30.07 sign is an upgrade replacement to the 30.06 sign and covers both open and concealed carry.

The same thought occurred to me. I'm certainly not going to educate them, though.

Also, what if a business doesn't have a sign properly worded or installed, what do you do?

I know there are those that will disagree with me on this. Personally, if I see a sign that is at least close to compliant, I figure it was effective enough because I saw it and I know what it means. That said, I won't take chances with 30.07 signs, but 30.06 signs will be a case by case judgment call on my part. The most important thing, I think, is that if you are verbally told to leave that you do so immediately. Not doing so is what can get you in big time trouble.

As always, I am not a lawyer.

texasisbest

• View Profile
« Reply #16 on: January 06, 2016, 04:28:55 PM »
There are many questions about the recent open carry law. What will you do as a law abiding citizen if you enter a business that has not posted a 30.07 sign and someone in the store asks you if you are licensed to carry?

This from Texas Law Shield...
Under section 411.205 of the Government Code, a license holder is only required to provide their license to a magistrate or a peace officer. However, even though you will not be able to demand the production of a license, the owner of the property or someone with apparent authority to act for the owner can provide notice that entry on the property with a handgun is prohibited. TPC 30.06, 30.07.