Author Topic: Keeping Firearm in Personal Vehicle on School Property  (Read 9703 times)

brian9117

Keeping Firearm in Personal Vehicle on School Property
« on: September 24, 2014, 09:09:06 PM »
Is it lawful for me to keep my firearm concealed, secured, and locked up in my personal vehicle in a high school parking lot?  I am a teacher with a conceal carry license.  I understand it is a felony to bring a firearm into a school building in every capacity, but if there were a terrible case of school violence, I would like to know that my firearm would be nearby so I could protect my students in a Newtown type event.

I would give my life for my students.  I would like to know more about my rights as a conscientious, caring citizen.

Thanks
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Guest »

Neighbor

• View Profile
Re: Keeping Firearm in Personal Vehicle on School Property
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2014, 09:00:45 PM »
I am not a lawyer, but yes as a Texas concealed carry license holder, it is legal for you to have your firearm in your vehicle on school property. However, it is possible (depending on your particular school) that you may be violating your school policy and could be dismissed/fired if found out. You state that you understand it is a felony to bring a firearm into a school building "in any capacity". Not sure exactly what that means, but in Texas a local school can give permission for concealed carry at school so in that situation it would not be a felony. Several schools in Texas have done this.
Not sure about the feasibility of being able to access your legal weapon in time to help in a Sandy Hook situation, but still better than leaving the gun at the house.

mayfieldh

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2014, 11:20:14 AM »
I would just like to add to what Brian9117 said before TLS answer this question.