Author Topic: Traveling with a firearm  (Read 7289 times)

JAA

Traveling with a firearm
« on: October 11, 2014, 07:47:56 AM »
I am a PA and UT CCW permit holder.  
I am a PA resident.
I routinely travel by car to NY, NJ, MD, DE, WV, OH, VA, NC, SC and Washington DC on business.  
What do I need to know about how to transport, store my handgun in my car, transporting it to the hotel and back into my car along with magazine Rnd limitations and types of ammunition hollow point vs jacketed as I travel to, from and in these states?
Thanks
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Guest »

TexasLawShield

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: Traveling with a firearm
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2014, 03:50:09 PM »
JAA,

If one of your licenses is recognized, you can carry concealed on your person in that state just as if you were in Pennsylvania/Utah. The states that recognize your licenses are: West Virginia, North Carolina, Virginia, Delaware (Utah only), and Ohio (Utah only)

Places that do not recognize your handgun, and you cannot take your handgun, and will therefore leave it at home: New York, New Jersey, Maryland, and Washington D.C.

South Carolina does not recognize your licenses, but luckily you can still have a loaded handgun in the vehicle in the closed glove compartment, console box, or trunk.

Unfortunately, states can have vastly different laws; for the in depth details you’re looking for on the other states, you can consult that state’s attorney general’s website, or that state’s Department of Public Safety / Chief of Police’s website for the answers you’re looking for.

Thank you for your question.

sofiajoe

« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2014, 11:14:50 PM »
I am a resident of PA
I have been told that I can legally purchase a handgun from a VA resident without going through either a VA or PA FFL.
Is this legal?

TexasLawShield

• Administrator
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2014, 11:30:25 AM »
sofiajoe,