Author Topic: Traveling threw Texas from non reciprocity state?  (Read 7911 times)

Straydog175

• View Profile
Traveling threw Texas from non reciprocity state?
« on: February 13, 2017, 11:53:41 AM »
Hello and thanks for any help. I'm unclear on the law when it comes to car carry, I am a Minnesota resident with a carry permit which is not reciprocity to Texas, where I'm confused is am I allowed to carry a concealed firearm in my car while traveling threw Texas?

kmedcalf

• View Profile
Re: Traveling threw Texas from non reciprocity state?
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2017, 08:40:18 AM »
IANAL, however under Texas Law, you may carry a firearm in your vehicle without a license under Texas Penal Code Section 46.02 with restrictions. Specifically, the weapon MUST be concealed, you may not exit the vehicle with the firearm (even if it's just to fill up at the gas station), you must not be a member of a criminal street gang, must be legally permitted to possess the weapon, and cannot be committing any  criminal activity (other than a class C traffic misdemeanor.

Here's the applicable law:

Sec. 46.02. UNLAWFUL CARRYING WEAPONS.
   (a) A person commits an offense if the person intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly carries on or about his or her person a handgun, illegal knife, or club if the person is not:
      (1) on the person's own premises or premises under the person's control; or
      (2) inside of or directly en route to a motor vehicle or watercraft that is owned by the person or under the person's control.
   (a-1) A person commits an offense if the person intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly carries on or about his or her person a handgun in a motor vehicle or watercraft that is owned by the person or under the person's control at any time in which:
      (1) the handgun is in plain view, unless the person is licensed to carry a handgun under Subchapter H, Chapter 411, Government Code, and the handgun is carried in a shoulder or belt holster; or