Author Topic: Texas chl eligibility  (Read 529 times)

Glockman93

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Texas chl eligibility
« on: April 13, 2017, 08:04:31 PM »
It says to be eligible for a chl you must be

A) is not charged with the commission of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or an offense under Section 42.01, Penal Code, or of a felony under an information or indictment;

And


B) charge with a class a or b misdemeanor in the past 5 years.

What is the difference between the two? 

switch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 133
    • View Profile
Re: Texas chl eligibility
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2017, 08:11:08 PM »
I'm not sure you quoted that correctly.  What's confusing is you cannot facing charges and get a LTC, however, if you are convicted, you have to wait 5 years.  (NOTE: It can take over 4 years to get before a jury if you fight the charge. :( )

Generally, they do not suspend/revoke your LTC when you are charged but they will revoke it if you are convicted.

TexasLawShield

  • Administrator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 881
    • View Profile
Re: Texas chl eligibility
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2017, 01:41:35 PM »
Glockman93,

As noted above, there is a slight distinction between the two eligibility requirements found in the government code 411.172.

(4)  is not charged with the commission of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or equivalent offense, or of an offense under Section 42.01, Penal Code, or equivalent offense, or of a felony under an information or indictment;
(8)  has not, in the five years preceding the date of application, been convicted of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or equivalent offense or of an offense under Section 42.01, Penal Code, or equivalent offense;

You cannot have been convicted in the past five years and additionally you cannot currently be charged.