Author Topic: Shoot or not to shoot?  (Read 707 times)

LLo25

• View Profile
Shoot or not to shoot?
« on: May 25, 2017, 09:49:08 AM »
So my buddy sent this to me and asked what I would do in this situation.

https://www.yahoo.com/gma/woman-jumps-her-car-stop-131751089.html

If this situation occurred, would it be justifiable to shoot the robber(s)? What if he already exited the vehicle to go back to the vehicle with his buddies? Does it matter if I was the victim or if someone else was the victim here?

Katfish

• View Profile
Re: Shoot or not to shoot?
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2017, 01:39:51 PM »

Well based on MY viewing of the video..................AND I am NOT a lawyer

WHERE is the "reasonable expectation of SERIOUS bodily harm or DEATH" ??

1. I did not see a weapon in the want-to-be carjackers hand
2. The ONLY time the Lady (aka duma$$ IMHO) was in serious danger - SHE put herSELF in that position clearly!!

And again if a would be carjacker has given up on the car stealing idea and is running AWAY - again WHERE is the "reasonable expectation of SERIOUS bodily harm or DEATH" ??

do the math!

LLo25

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2017, 07:08:02 AM »
Thanks for your input but if someone was stealing your vehicle from right under you, you'd just let it happen?

Katfish

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2017, 07:33:01 AM »

I did NOT say "one should just let a thief steal your car"...................

But a D.A., or Grand Jury, or a trial jury will more than likely consider "was there a reasonable expectation of serious injury or bodily harm or death"...........when they decide how to "prosecute you or not".

TLS has dozens if not hundreds of Texas Law seminars available for only $5 (to TLS members) where discussions about such a topic take place.

EVERY scenario is different. What struck me when observing the video was that I did not see the would be car thief being armed.

ceejmo

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2017, 06:11:57 PM »