Author Topic: Texas CHL/Gun License renewal procedure.  (Read 2178 times)


  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Texas CHL/Gun License renewal procedure.
« on: June 20, 2017, 02:37:06 PM »
I tried doing a search but didn't really find what I was hoping to. Could a lawyer (preferably from/in Texas) go over the procedure to renew my CHL which will expire at the end of October please. Being that I am disabled, I would like to know what I'm getting into before I start my efforts.

Is there a test? A shooting requalification? etc.... I'd be grateful for the info, thank you!


  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Texas CHL/Gun License renewal procedure.
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2017, 08:48:59 AM »
Hi talk2me. I am not a lawyer, but you can find all of the requirements in GC 411, subchapter H, which covers handgun licensing.

Having said that, I can tell you that the renewal process in Texas does not require you to attend a class, or to demonstrate your proficiency (no shooting requirement). All you have to do is log on to the DPS handgun licensing web site ( From there you can log on and apply for a renewal, and pay the required fee. Then you just sit back and wait for it to be processed and the new license mailed to you.

The fee will depend on your status and when you apply. Normal renewal fee is currently $70, however a change in the law which becomes effective on September 1, 2017 reduces that to $40. If you're a senior citizen (over 60), the fee is $35, and if you're a veteran, it's $25.

Hope that helps you out.


  • Administrator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 996
    • View Profile
Re: Texas CHL/Gun License renewal procedure.
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2017, 03:06:28 PM »

The information above is correct and the process for renewal is laid out in the Government Code Section 411.185.

(a)  To renew a license, a license holder must, on or before the date the license expires, submit to the department by mail or, in accordance with the procedure adopted under Subsection (f), on the Internet:
(1)  a renewal application on a form provided by the department;
(2)  payment of a nonrefundable renewal fee as set by the department; and
(3)  the informational form described by Subsection (c) signed or electronically acknowledged by the applicant.
(b)  The director by rule shall adopt a renewal application form requiring an update of the information on the original completed application.  The director by rule shall set the renewal fee in an amount that is sufficient to cover the actual cost to the department to:
(1)  verify the information contained in the renewal application form;
(2)  conduct any necessary investigation concerning the license holder's continued eligibility to hold a license; and
(3)  issue the renewed license.
(c)  The director by rule shall adopt an informational form that describes state law regarding the use of deadly force and the places where it is unlawful for the holder of a license issued under this subchapter to carry a handgun.  An applicant for a renewed license must sign and return the informational form to the department by mail or acknowledge the form electronically on the Internet according to the procedure adopted under Subsection (f).


  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 247
    • View Profile
Re: Texas CHL/Gun License renewal procedure.
« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2017, 08:59:05 PM »
If your license expires the end of October, I'm surprised you haven't already received a letter from DPS licensing explaining how to renew.
Mine was to expire the end of Sept. and I received a letter in April. I did the on-line part the application and paid my fee on May 3rd and on May 15th my new license arrived in the mailbox - I was pleasantly surprised. I even have the old ink fingerprints on file and they indicated at the end of my online portion that my information on file would be "reviewed" to see if it met current standards so I figured I would have to redo something but not the case.