Author Topic: Proper Concealed Carry Question  (Read 863 times)

sammyboy

• View Profile
Proper Concealed Carry Question
« on: November 30, 2017, 03:29:20 PM »
I have a LTC in Texas but was told by a friend that I am carrying illegally because I don't have the handgun in a holster. I know that for open carry it needs to be in a holster but is that also the case for concealed carry? I have a small 9mm that I keep in my front pocket. It is not possible to see the outline of the gun because I keep a small wallet in the pocket over the gun also.  Thanks.

Katfish

• View Profile
Re: Proper Concealed Carry Question
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2017, 03:40:43 PM »

A. I am NOT a lawyer!

B. AFAIK - the holster requirement is specifically related to OPEN carry

sammyboy

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2017, 03:58:33 PM »
That's exactly what I think as well. I think my friend is confused because of the OC holster requirement.

Neighbor

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2017, 08:54:26 PM »
I am reasonably sure Katfish is correct also. I have never seen anything that indicated to me a holster was required for concealed carry - only open carry.

Hueyville

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2017, 08:27:29 AM »
Don't know anything about Texas law but have been told current regulations in Texas and Georgia are similar. For decades a holster of some type even for pocket carry was required and ankle holsters forbidden for all but law enforcement. Both of those rules have changed and no longer is a holster required in Georgia and ankle holsters are allowed. Now here is the issue. It was illegal for both so long and even stated so on our weapons license that many older law enforcement officers still believe both rules exist.