Author Topic: Private Sale  (Read 398 times)

AoV777

• View Profile
Private Sale
« on: December 12, 2017, 11:44:23 PM »
I live in Texas. I recently sold a pistol private sale to an individual. I had him sign the a letter stating he is legally allowed to own a firearm like most private sellers use. But an Ex police officer told me that letter people use is useless and would not protect you in court if the person lied to me and is in fact a felon. So now this Ex officer has me scared to sell privately. What does the law say? am I protected with the signed document in the state of Texas?

ceejmo

• View Profile
Re: Private Sale
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2017, 03:47:38 PM »
I AM NOT A LAWYER but, under Texas Penal Code - PENAL § 46.06. Unlawful Transfer of Certain Weapons

(a) A person commits an offense if the person:

(1) sells, rents, leases, loans, or gives a handgun to any person knowing that the person to whom the handgun is to be delivered intends to use it unlawfully or in the commission of an unlawful act;

(2) intentionally or knowingly sells, rents, leases, or gives or offers to sell, rent, lease, or give to any child younger than 18 years any firearm, club, or illegal knife;

(3) intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly sells a firearm or ammunition for a firearm to any person who is intoxicated;

(4) knowingly sells a firearm or ammunition for a firearm to any person who has been convicted of a felony before the fifth anniversary of the later of the following dates:

(A) the person's release from confinement following conviction of the felony;  or

(B) the person's release from supervision under community supervision, parole, or mandatory supervision following conviction of the felony;  

(5) sells, rents, leases, loans, or gives a handgun to any person knowing that an active protective order is directed to the person to whom the handgun is to be delivered;  or