Author Topic: Legality of carrying with "Clipdraw"  (Read 325 times)

mrjlw

• View Profile
Legality of carrying with "Clipdraw"
« on: January 17, 2018, 03:23:27 PM »
I am by no means a lawyer, but it would seem to me that since "Clipdraw" is technically not a holster, it would potentially be unlawful to use in Texas. Is "Clipdraw" lawful or unlawful to use in Texas?

I was reading through some Penal Code and found this, and thus why I am questioning the legality of this product (which I absolutely love, so it would suck if I can't use it). The specific portion in question is in bold.

"Sec. 46.02.  UNLAWFUL CARRYING WEAPONS.  (a)  A person commits an offense if the person:
(1)  intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly carries on or about his or her person a handgun or club; and
(2)  is not:
(A)  on the person's own premises or premises under the person's control; or
(B)  inside of or directly en route to a motor vehicle or watercraft that is owned by the person or under the person's control.
(a-1)  A person commits an offense if the person intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly carries on or about his or her person a handgun in a motor vehicle or watercraft that is owned by the person or under the person's control at any time in which:
(1)  the handgun is in plain view, unless the person is licensed to carry a handgun under Subchapter H, Chapter 411, Government Code, and the handgun is carried in a shoulder or belt holster; or
(2)  the person is:
(A)  engaged in criminal activity, other than a Class C misdemeanor that is a violation of a law or ordinance regulating traffic or boating;"
« Last Edit: January 17, 2018, 03:25:35 PM by mrjlw »

TexasLawShield

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: Legality of carrying with "Clipdraw"
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2018, 03:22:23 PM »
Mrjlw,