Author Topic: Waiting period after conviction of a Class B Misdemeanor  (Read 1606 times)

switch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 139
    • View Profile
Waiting period after conviction of a Class B Misdemeanor
« on: May 08, 2018, 08:25:23 AM »
I understand there is a 5 year waiting period from the date of conviction (not the date of the offense).  I've been told that DPS is interpreting that to mean 5 years from the end of probation.Is that correct?

TexasLawShield

  • Administrator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 989
    • View Profile
Re: Waiting period after conviction of a Class B Misdemeanor
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2018, 01:24:42 PM »
switch,

Texas Government Code 411.172 states that a person who has been convicted with a class B misdemeanor within 5 years preceding the application is not eligible for an LTC in Texas. The 5 years runs from the date you took the plea or received the conviction. The statue further provides that a person whose license is revoked may reapply as a new applicant, two years after the date of revocation so long as the reason for revocation no longer applies. Thus, for instance, a person whose LTC is revoked for a class B misdemeanor would have to wait for a total of 7 years from the date of conviction.