Author Topic: ATF ruling on .223/.556 ammo.  (Read 7859 times)

LucasMcCain

• I am not a lawyer.
    • View Profile
ATF ruling on .223/.556 ammo.
« on: February 17, 2015, 12:25:12 PM »
A friend of mine alerted me to this issue, and I wanted to ask you guys about it. Apparently the ATF is looking to ban ball ammo in .223 and .556, with the possibility of extending that to include other popular rifle calibers. The rationale seems to be that these rounds can be used in handguns and thereby constitute armor piercing handgun rounds. It also involves whether or not the rounds in question are intended for "sporting purposes." This is clearly insane, but that doesn't mean it won't pass. I would just like to know what my lawyer friends have to say on the subject, what we can do to oppose this, and how real this threat to our 2A rights is. Thanks.

This is the most concise and ad free article I have found on the subject.
http://nssf.org/share/blastLinks/Action ... mo_Ban.htm
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Guest »

MIO

• View Profile
Re: ATF ruling on .223/.556 ammo.
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2015, 06:12:41 PM »
It's  M855/SS109 ammo mainly. They are grasping at anything they can get after taking the beating on politics and with the current admin on its last stand

http://tacticalshit.com/action-alert-op ... ition-ban/

I wrote an email to the ATF

To: "APAComments@atf.gov" <APAComments@atf.gov>
Subject: Proposed Ban of M855/SS109 Ball Ammo

This proposed ban is not based on any real threat to officers, like myself, rather it is political.
This ammo has been sold for years with little to no issues or impact on crime.
Almost ANY rifle ammo can penetrate most soft armor worn by officers and very few criminals are walking around with AR "pistols" in their baggy pants loaded up with "green tips".